Written by Morten Blinksbjerg Nielsen, founder of Shoporama. Updated October 2026.
Shoporama is one of the 9 platforms included in this comparison, and you should be aware of this before reading on. To be fair, we’ve gathered prices and terms from the providers’ own pricing pages, help pages, and terms of service as of October 2026, and whenever we use other sources—such as a research firm or Trustpilot—we’ll mention them. Where we haven’t found any information, we’ll state that instead of making an educated guess. And we’ll also point out where Shoporama falls short.
Here’s how we compared
We’ve looked at the factors that typically determine the choice of a Danish store:
- Price when you start and as the store grows, including a percentage of sales.
- MobilePay and Dankort, and whether there are additional fees.
- Accounting: Do orders sync directly with Dinero or e-conomic?
- Support in Danish and over the phone.
- Contract terms and data export: Can you switch providers if you change your mind?
We haven’t measured speed under the same conditions, so we’re not naming a winner in that category. We only mention user complaints when we have a source, such as Trustpilot. You pay the gateway’s own fees on all platforms, so we only factor those in when the platform adds its own markup. See what the percentage of sales means in Danish kroner.
Overview: 9 e-commerce platforms compared
| Platform | Price from (per month) | Percentage of sales | MobilePay | Dankort | Dinero/e-conomic | Danish support | Commitment | Data export |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Shoporama | 0 DKK + 5% (Flex, min. 249 DKK starting January 1, 2027) | Flex 5%, Pro 0% | Via gateway | Via gateway | Dinero built-in, e-conomic via app | Yes, phone on Pro | None | CSV, JSON, and API |
| Shopify | 249 DKK | 2 / 1 / 0.6 / 0.2% without Shopify Payments | 49 DKK/month | Pure Dankort via app with surcharge (unconfirmed) | Apps in USD | Not specified | None (Plus 1 or 3 years) | CSV and API |
| WooCommerce | 0 DKK + hosting | 0% | Plugin or gateway | Via gateway | Plugin, e.g., Pairy | Not specified (support via hosting provider or agency) | None | CSV and API |
| DanDomain | 249 DKK | Not specified | Via OnPay | Via OnPay | Apps | Yes, phone | 6 or 12 months in advance | CSV or XML, not available in Start-up |
| Ideal.shop | 179 DKK | Not specified | Custom agreement | Via Nets | From Standard | Yes | 1 day | Yes |
| Meeshop | 249 DKK | 2 / 1 / 0.5% | Via gateway | Via gateway | Yes | Phone only on Professional | None | CSV upon cancellation |
| Shup | 0 DKK with no payment | Not specified | ShupPay or QuickPay | Not specified | Dinero/Billy only in Pro | Yes | None | CSV upon cancellation |
| Wix | approx. 30 USD | Not specified | No | Not specified | ? | No | ? | ? |
| Squarespace | 160 DKK | 2% on Basic | Not specified | Not specified | ? | No | ? | ? |
As of October 2026. “Price from” refers to monthly payments and excludes introductory rates, except for Wix, which offers annual billing. Shoporama, DanDomain, Ideal.shop, and Shup list prices excluding VAT; Wix lists prices excluding tax; and the others do not specify. "Not specified" means we couldn’t find the price on the provider’s site, and "?" means we haven’t looked into it yet. "Via gateway" means you’ll pay the gateway’s fee on top of the base price.
Overview of the 9 platforms
Shopify
Best for: Stores that want to sell internationally, need many specialized features, or work with an agency that builds on Shopify. In Shopify’s App Store, you’ll find apps for things like accounting, newsletters, loyalty programs, cookies, and reviews—often with multiple versions to choose from.
Price as of October 2026: Basic costs 249 DKK/month with monthly billing and 189 DKK/month with annual billing. Grow costs 660 DKK (499 DKK), Advanced 2,870 DKK (2,150 DKK), and Plus starts at 2,100 EUR per month with a 1- or 3-year commitment. The pricing page does not specify whether prices include or exclude VAT. You can try it for free for 3 days and then for 5 DKK/month for 3 months on most plans.
As your store grows: With Shopify Payments, you pay Shopify’s card processing fee—1.9% + 1.80 DKK per transaction on the Basic plan. If you use a different payment gateway, Shopify adds 2% of sales on the Basic plan, 1% on the Grow plan, and 0.6% on the Advanced plan. This also applies when Shopify Payments runs alongside another gateway. Accounting is handled through apps billed in dollars, e.g., $29–$129/month for an e-conomic app, depending on the number of orders.
This can be frustrating: MobilePay is included in Shopify Payments for 49 DKK/month, but does not work for subscription products. We have not been able to confirm that Dankort alone is supported in Shopify Payments. According to the agency Webworq, Visa/Dankort transactions are processed as Visa, while Dankort-only transactions require an external gateway, so you’ll incur the additional fee. Support is available via live chat 24/7, but we haven’t found an official page that promises assistance in Danish. And if you cancel, your subscription fee is non-refundable.
Compare Shoporama and Shopify side by side.
WooCommerce
Best for: Those who already have a WordPress site and can handle hosting, updates, and security on their own—or pay someone to do it. You get full access to the code and can build whatever you want, and many Danish agencies work with WooCommerce.
Price as of October 2026: WooCommerce itself is free and takes no percentage of sales. However, you’ll pay for hosting and extensions. WooCommerce estimates hosting costs at 25–350 USD/month and extensions at 29–299 USD per year each; for example, 279 USD for subscriptions and 179 USD for points and loyalty. Danish hosting can be cheaper; for example, Simply.com charges 129.95 DKK/month, including VAT, after the first year.
As the store grows: The cost does not depend on revenue, but rather on the number of extensions and the time required for maintenance, which the agency Webza estimated in May 2026 to be 300–800 DKK per month. WooCommerce’s own payment solution, WooPayments, does not support either MobilePay or Dankort. Instead, you can use a free MobilePay plugin or a gateway like QuickPay: 99 DKK/month, Dankort +30 DKK/month, and MobilePay Online +49 DKK/month, plus a fee per transaction, all excluding VAT. Dinero does not have its own WooCommerce integration, so accounting is handled through services like Pairy, starting at 149 DKK/month for up to 50 orders.
This can be frustrating: There’s no central support line to call. WooCommerce’s help desk only covers extensions purchased from them, and questions about the free core are referred to WordPress forums. You can get help in Danish from your hosting provider or an agency. Orders and customers can be exported from the reports or using a plugin for 79 USD per year.
Compare Shoporama and WooCommerce side by side.
DanDomain (and SmartWeb)
Suitable for: Danish stores that want a Danish provider with phone support and a wide selection of apps. DanDomain states that there are over 150 integrations. The company was founded in 1999 and is now part of the European hosting group team.blue. The current DanDomain Webshop is the platform formerly known as SmartWeb, and smartweb.dk now redirects to dandomain.dk. The older system, Webshop Classic, still exists but is not sold on DanDomain’s public website.
Prices as of October 2026: Start-up costs 249 DKK/month, Growth 699 DKK, Advance 1,199 DKK, and Success 2,199 DKK, all excluding VAT. The introductory price is 9 DKK/month (39 DKK for the Success plan) and, by all accounts, applies for the first 6 months. The plan depends on the number of orders: fewer than 100, 250, 1,000, and 2,500 per month, calculated as an average over 180 days. In February 2024, the plans cost 199, 549, 999, and 1,999 DKK.
As the store grows: More orders require a larger plan, but we haven’t found any percentage-based fees. Payments are typically processed through the OnPay payment solution, which costs either 1 DKK per transaction (up to 100 per month) or 99 DKK/month, including 300 transactions. MobilePay costs 49 DKK/month + 1.02 DKK per transaction. Accounting is handled via apps, such as Pairy, starting at 149 DKK/month, excluding VAT.
This can be annoying: You pay 6 or 12 months in advance, the agreement renews automatically, and you must cancel at least 30 days before the end of the period. The export module is not included in the Start-up plan. As of October 2026, DanDomain has a 4.7 out of 5 rating on Trustpilot based on over 2,200 reviews, but this profile also covers domains, email, and hosting. Among the negative reviews, price increases are the most common complaint, while the positive reviews particularly praise the fast phone support.
Compare Shoporama and DanDomain side by side. And if you’re considering switching from DanDomain, we’ve compiled everything you need to know.
Shoporama
Best for: Danish stores that want payment processing, shipping, accounting, and marketing built right into the platform itself rather than through apps. The Flex plan is suitable when you’re just starting out or selling seasonally, and the Pro plan is suitable when your monthly sales exceed approximately 28,000 DKK.
Price as of October 2026: Pro costs 1,400 DKK/month (excl. tax) regardless of revenue and with no percentage of sales. Flex costs 0 DKK/month + 5% of sales (including tax and shipping) through December 31, 2026, and from January 1, 2027, a minimum of 249 DKK/month, excluding tax. There is no contract commitment and no setup fee, and you can try it for free for 30 days without a credit card. See Shoporama’s pricing.
Included are: Page builder, AI assistant, point-of-sale system, loyalty program, newsletter module, B2B, and returns center. Dinero and Billy are built-in, and e-conomic runs via a free app from us. MobilePay and Dankort are available through a payment gateway, such as Quickpay or Nets Easy (there are 11 to choose from), and shipping with PostNord, GLS, and DAO is built-in. A few features cost extra, such as sending newsletters (1 DKK per 100 emails) and server-side tracking (89 DKK/month).
As your store grows: With Flex, the price increases with sales, so at 50,000 kr. per month, you pay 2,500 kr. Above approximately 28,000 kr. per month, Pro is cheaper than Flex because the Pro price doesn’t scale with your revenue.
Where we fall short: The ecosystem is smaller than Shopify’s, so there are fewer apps and partners to choose from. Phone support is only included with Pro, and support is available on weekdays from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Flex includes 1 user (additional users cost 49 kr./month per user) and does not include a custom theme or SFTP access. Starting in 2027, Flex will no longer be free during inactive months due to the minimum requirement. If you cancel in the middle of a paid period, the remaining balance is non-refundable. Additionally, the point-of-sale system has no built-in card reader and does not work offline.
Ideal.shop
Suitable for: Smaller Danish stores that want a low fixed monthly price and many built-in features, such as a newsletter, gift cards, booking, and a point-of-sale system, with limits per plan. The platform was formerly known as Shopstart and was launched in 2019.
Prices as of October 2026: Light costs 179 DKK/month, Standard 529 DKK/month (441 DKK with annual payment), and Pro 1,289 DKK/month (1,075 DKK), all excluding VAT. You can set up a free demo without a credit card and with no expiration date, but you cannot accept orders until you have a subscription. You can cancel with one day’s notice.
As your store grows: The plans have limits. The Light plan supports up to 100 orders per month and 50 products/variants and includes neither accounting integration nor an API. Standard supports up to 1,000 orders and 5,000 products/variants, and Pro supports up to 5,000 orders and 25,000 products/variants with B2B capabilities for up to 25 customer groups. If you exceed the limit, a fee is automatically charged, but we haven’t been able to find the amount. The Standard and Pro plans include an API with 25,000 calls per day. We haven’t found any percentage-based fees. MobilePay operates under your own agreement with Vipps MobilePay, which, according to Ideal.shop, costs 1 DKK + 0.69% per transaction with no monthly fee. Dinero, e-conomic, and Billy are included starting with the Standard plan.
This might be annoying: Reviewers on Trustpilot praise the fast and friendly support, but some feel that the admin panel feels outdated and is hard to navigate. On the Light plan, support is available only via email after the first 30 days. Prices may be adjusted once a year based on the net price index.
Meeshop
Best for: Stores that want startup and marketing assistance included in their subscription. The Growth and Professional plans include startup assistance, and the Professional plan also includes marketing setup. Meeshop is a Danish company founded in 2019.
Prices as of October 2026: Basic costs 249 DKK/month, Growth 699 DKK/month, and Professional 2,499 DKK/month. The pricing page does not specify whether prices include or exclude VAT, and there is no annual price listed. Basic includes 1 user, Growth up to 3, and Professional has unlimited users. You can try it for free for 30 days without a credit card.
As your store grows: Meeshop charges a percentage of sales in addition to the monthly fee: 2% for Basic, 1% for Growth, and 0.5% for Professional. With 50,000 kr. in monthly sales, that comes to 1,249 kr. on Basic and 1,199 kr. on Growth. The pricing page lists up to 100 products for both Basic and Growth. If you have more items, ask Meeshop before choosing a plan. Payments are processed through a gateway such as Reepay or Nets, for which you pay an additional fee—for example, Nets costs 75 kr./month. Dinero, e-conomic, and Billy are listed on the integrations page, but their prices are not specified.
This might be annoying: Phone support is only included in the Professional plan; the other plans offer email support. You can only cancel through the account page, and there are no refunds. According to the terms and conditions, the online store cannot be transferred to another provider once you cancel. You’re offered a CSV file containing orders, customers, and products, but we haven’t found either an export you can run yourself or an API. There are too few reviews on Trustpilot to draw any conclusions about the user experience.
Shup
Suitable for: Artisans and small creative businesses, which are Shup’s own target audience. Shup was founded in 2022 and reports having over 400 active artisans. Reviewers highlight that it’s easy to get started without any technical knowledge.
Price as of October 2026: The Free plan costs 0 DKK, but the online store is hosted on a shup.dk subdomain with Shup’s ads, and you cannot accept online payments. The Starter plan costs 189 DKK/month (139 DKK with annual payment), and the Pro plan costs 389 DKK/month (289 DKK), all prices exclude VAT. Both plans provide exposure on Yoko.dk. A domain costs 99 DKK per year, and an optional setup package costs 4,995 DKK.
As your store grows: The monthly price is fixed, and we haven’t found any percentage-based fees. We also haven’t been able to find the fee for Shup’s own payment solution, ShupPay. MobilePay requires ShupPay or QuickPay, and Dankort isn’t mentioned. Automatic bookkeeping is only included in the Pro plan and requires Dinero Pro or Billy Pro, while e-conomic is not mentioned. The Pro plan also includes shipping labels via Shipmondo, gift cards, and support for foreign currencies and VAT. Email addresses on your domain cost 99 DKK/month on the Starter plan.
This might be annoying: Some reviewers on Trustpilot want more features and design options. And just like with Meeshop, the terms and conditions state that the online store cannot be transferred to another provider upon cancellation. Instead, you’ll receive a CSV file containing orders, customers, and products. You can only cancel via a link within the system—not by phone or email—and there are no refunds. On the other hand, Danish support is available via chat, email, and phone on the Starter and Pro plans.
Wix and Squarespace
Best for: Those who primarily want a website and to sell a little on the side, and who can manage in English. Both are international website builders, and they rank highly on several Danish lists of online store platforms, so we’ve included them.
Wix: Wix displays prices in dollars for reference, and we haven’t found any Danish prices. As of October 2026, the plans that support sales cost approximately 30–160 USD/month when paid annually, excluding tax. Wix’s own payment solution is not available in Denmark, so you’ll use, for example, Stripe (1.5% + 1.80 DKK per standard card) or PayPal. Wix states that it does not offer MobilePay, and Dankort is not mentioned. Support is available in English and German, among other languages, but not in Danish. New plans are refundable within 14 days.
Squarespace: As of October 2026, Basic costs 160 DKK/month, Core costs 230 DKK, and Advanced costs 315 DKK with monthly billing. The lower prices of 110, 160, and 220 DKK apparently apply to annual payments. Squarespace charges 2% of online store sales on the Basic plan and 0% on the other plans. Squarespace Payments isn’t available in Denmark, so you’ll use Stripe or PayPal. We haven’t found support for MobilePay or Dankort. Support is available via chat and email, but not in Danish, and there’s no phone support. The trial period is 14 days.
This might be a drawback: None of them offer Danish support, and Wix doesn’t support MobilePay. Therefore, consider whether you can do without these two features. We haven’t investigated how they integrate with Dinero and e-conomic.
How much do the platforms cost as the store grows?
The table shows the platform’s own monthly price for monthly sales of 10,000, 50,000, and 200,000 DKK, including tax and shipping, as of October 2026, with monthly payments. Gateway fees, apps, and hosting are not included.
| Platform | 10,000 DKK/month | 50,000 DKK/month | 200,000 DKK/month |
|---|---|---|---|
| Shoporama Flex (5%, starting in 2027, min. 249 kr.) | 500 DKK | 2,500 DKK | 10,000 DKK |
| Shoporama Pro | 1,400 DKK | 1,400 DKK | 1,400 DKK |
| Shopify Basic + 2% (external gateway) | 449 DKK | 1,249 DKK | 4,249 DKK |
| Shopify Grow + 1% (external gateway) | 760 DKK | 1,160 DKK | 2,660 DKK |
| Meeshop Growth + 1% | 799 DKK | 1,199 DKK | 2,699 DKK |
| DanDomain (based on number of orders) | 249 DKK | 699 DKK | 1,199 DKK |
| Ideal.shop Standard | 529 DKK | 529 DKK | 529 DKK |
| Shup Pro | 389 DKK | 389 DKK | 389 DKK |
| WooCommerce | 0 DKK + hosting | 0 kr. + hosting | 0 DKK + hosting |
With Shopify Payments, the surcharge is eliminated, but you’ll pay Shopify’s card processing fee instead of the payment gateway’s. DanDomain is calculated at 500 kr. per order, i.e., 20, 100, and 400 orders per month, and this is the price per month, even though DanDomain bills 6 or 12 months in advance. Meeshop Growth lists prices based on up to 100 products.
For low sales volumes, most fall between approximately 250 and 800 DKK, and the Pro plan is the most expensive. At 200,000 kr., Flex is the most expensive, and Pro falls in the middle, while Shup, Ideal.shop, and DanDomain are cheaper if their limits and terms suit your needs. See what an online store costs over 1 and 3 years, including apps, hosting, and setup.
Which platform is right for whom?
- Hobby and side project: Shup—free without online payment—or Shoporama Flex at 5% of sales and, starting in 2027, at least 249 kr./month.
- Creative small shops: Shup. If you want more control over the design, see how you can build your own online store without coding.
- Fixed price with lots of built-in features: Ideal.shop, within the limits of the plans.
- International sales with many apps: Shopify.
- Full technical control: WooCommerce, if you can handle operations and security yourself.
- Established Danish store experiencing growth: Shoporama Pro for approximately 28,000 DKK per month, or DanDomain, if paying 6 or 12 months in advance suits you.
- Seasonal and club use: Shoporama Flex, with an off-season hiatus for 49 DKK/month while retaining all your data.
Data ownership: Can you move on if you change your mind?
It’s easy to get started on a platform, but check to see if you can leave it.
- Meeshop and Shup: According to the terms of service, the online store cannot be transferred. You’ll receive a CSV file containing orders, customers, and products.
- Shopify: CSV with products, customers, and orders, but without images in the product file.
- DanDomain: CSV or XML including products, orders, and redirects, but not available in the Start-up plan.
- WooCommerce and Ideal.shop: Export of products, orders, and customers. On WooCommerce, orders and customers require reports or a paid extension.
- Shoporama: Products, orders, and customers as CSV; products also as JSON; and the same via the REST API.
On Shopify, DanDomain, and Shoporama, customer passwords cannot be transferred. Learn how to migrate your online store without losing search rankings.
Try Before You Choose
Trial periods as of October 2026: Shopify 3 days, Squarespace 14 days, DanDomain and Meeshop 30 days, Ideal.shop an unlimited demo, Shup a free plan, and Shoporama 30 days without a credit card. Try out 2–3 platforms with your own products, and ask customer support a real question before you choose. Try Shoporama for free for 30 days.
About the Author
Morten Blinksbjerg Nielsen is the founder and owner of Shoporama. He holds a Master of Laws degree and has been developing websites since 1998. The first online store on Shoporama went live in 2013, and today Shoporama has an office in Odense. If you find an error in the comparison, please email support@shoporama.dk, and we’ll correct it.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which online store platform is best in Denmark?
There isn’t one that’s best for everyone. Shopify is suitable for international sales, WooCommerce for full control, and Ideal.shop and Shup for low fixed prices. DanDomain offers Danish phone support with all packages, while Shoporama, Ideal.shop, Shup, and Meeshop offer it on select plans. We use Shoporama ourselves, so feel free to try out 2–3 platforms before you decide.
Are the prices listed with or without sales tax?
It varies. Shoporama, DanDomain, Ideal.shop, and Shup list prices excluding VAT. Shopify, Meeshop, and Squarespace do not specify this, and Wix displays prices in dollars excluding tax. We list the prices exactly as stated by the providers, as of October 2026.
Which platforms charge a percentage of sales?
As of October 2026, Shopify charges 2%, 1%, 0.6%, or 0.2% depending on the plan if you use a payment gateway other than Shopify Payments. Meeshop charges 2%, 1%, or 0.5%, and Squarespace charges 2% on the Basic plan. Shoporama Flex costs 5% and, starting January 1, 2027, a minimum of 249 DKK/month (excl. tax), so at 400,000 DKK per month, that’s 20,000 DKK, while the Pro plan costs 1,400 DKK.
Which platforms can send orders directly to Dinero or e-conomic?
Shoporama has Dinero and Billy built-in, and e-conomic via a free app. Ideal.shop includes all three starting with the Standard plan, and Shup offers automatic bookkeeping in the Pro plan if you have Dinero Pro or Billy Pro. Meeshop lists all three without specifying a price. With Shopify, WooCommerce, and DanDomain, this is done via apps, which typically come at a cost—for example, Pairy.
Which platforms offer Danish phone support?
DanDomain offers phone support with all plans, Ideal.shop with the Standard and Pro plans, Shup with the Starter and Pro plans, and Meeshop only with the Professional plan. With Shoporama, phone support is included with the Pro plan, and everyone can contact support via email. We have not found Danish support for Shopify, WooCommerce, Wix, or Squarespace.
What is the cheapest online store platform?
It depends on your sales. Shup Free costs 0 DKK, but does not include online payment, and WooCommerce is free but requires hosting. Shoporama Flex costs 0 DKK/month + 5% of sales through December 31, 2026, and starting January 1, 2027, at least 249 DKK/month, excluding tax. Read more about affordable online stores.
Can I transfer my data if I switch later?
Yes, but to varying degrees. Shopify, WooCommerce, Ideal.shop, and Shoporama offer export features you can run yourself, and with DanDomain, the export module is not included in the Start-up plan. Meeshop and Shup send a CSV file, but the online store itself cannot be moved. Learn how to move your online store without losing your search rankings.
Can the online store be used with an in-store point-of-sale system?
Yes. Shoporama’s point-of-sale system is included and shares inventory, customers, and orders with the online store, but it does not have a built-in card reader and does not work offline. Ideal.shop also has a built-in point-of-sale system with limitations depending on the plan. Shopify POS Pro costs 590 DKK/month per location, and DanDomain POS costs 249 DKK/month. Read about the online store and point-of-sale system in one.